top of page
What's Happening:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Get to Know Me!
What's On TV?

Other Posts-

A Recent Graduate's Reflection

Recently, I attended a high school graduation. While I was sitting there, listening to the constant babble of the proceedings, I began to think back to my graduation. You know, for it just being a year ago, I don’t really remember much of it. I remember going, giving the invocation, and throwing my cap in the air. I can’t, however, tell you what my guest speaker said or what inspiration the valedictorian and salutatorian attempted to provide. Sitting in those wooden bleachers, it hit me. I shouldn’t remember because, who really cares?

Now, don’t get me wrong, graduation is important. It’s the celebration of one’s achievements and the commencement of their time in a place where, unlike many others, they could have spent their preschool, elementary, and high school careers. It’s a special time! But think about it. Thousands of people are receiving their diplomas just like you. So maybe you were the president of every organization, the star athlete, or the class clown. Once you throw your cap in the air, you’re tossing all those past achievements into oblivion. Once you walk out those doors, nobody cares what you did. They are more preoccupied thinking about their car payment or if they remembered to turn off the oven before they left the house. The same happens when you go to college. So the admissions office cared that you had the highest ACT or SAT score in your class. When you move to a campus with 6,000+ students, everybody could care less.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, don’t dwell in the past. Sure, pull out an old yearbook and stay in touch with people (if you want). But don’t go through the rest of your life thinking about the good ol’ days where you were the prettiest girl or the funniest guy at your high school. Life is the greatest adventure. Don’t miss out on it just because you’re afraid it may not be as good as what you have now or what you did have. Move forward and meet the ever-impending future with confidence. It’s scary, trust me. I’m still freaked out and probably will be to the end of my days. The only difference is, I have decided to not let my future be some looming figure in front of me. Instead, I’ve opted to carpe futura (seize the future).

Love,

Heldie

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page