top of page
What's Happening:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Get to Know Me!
What's On TV?

Other Posts-

Oh Mama

Man, has it been a long time since I have been able to put fingertip to keys this summer! Not that I have been crazy busy, but you know, it's summertime. I've been enjoying the lovely outdoors and glorious sunshine!

I am way too pale for that and the Netflix original sense8 has taken over my life. Not to mention, I am still recovering from the Game of Thrones season finale. However, these aren't the only things I have been obsessing over. Recently, due to a lovely batch of friends, I was introduced to the anthem of my life, Woman (Oh Mama) by Joy Williams.

Now, when you first hear the song, it just sounds like she's making statements and not really forming sentences. However, she doesn't need to when you are actually listening and understanding what she is saying. Take a listen for yourself-

Of course, I am sure that there are some complaints about this song and quite frankly, I could care less as to what those complaints may be. Music is as much an expression as the one you make on your face. Just like a voice, this song and its lyrics speak to you. To me, this song is not only empowering, but honest. As a woman, I know what it is like to be a woman.

Women are just as varied as anything else. We lie and we dream. We face the day just like every other person, deciding whether or not we shall wear the mask of a villian or hero. Women can be wild and yet continue to teach others.

Unfortunately, these aspects of womankind are often hidden away and not just by male counterparts, but by other women. We get so wrapped up in being what others tell us we should be that we forget who we actually are. I know I have fallen victim to that plenty of times and I constantly find myself asking, "Who am I?" I am selfish and opinionated. I am furious and ecstatic. I am kind and hateful. I am ever-changing.

"I am the Universe wrapped in skin."

Love,

Heldie


Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page