top of page
What's Happening:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Get to Know Me!
What's On TV?

Other Posts-

The International Experience

cul·ture shock

noun

-the feeling of disorientation experienced by someone who is suddenly subjected to an unfamiliar culture, way of life, or set of attitudes.

When I arrived on campus a week ago, I couldn't help but remember moving in my freshman year. I remember the rush of adrenaline that only seemed to amp up my excitement and overwhelming nervousness that had been brewing in the pit of my stomach during my two hour drive. I remember ultimately regretting the green John Deere shirt and tennis shoes I had worn for move-in. I recall anxiously awaiting the arrival of my roommate who I was sure would take one look at my side of the room and ultimately regret her decision to live with me. But, most of all, I remember the intense feeling of hope and pride surge through me as I watched my father purchase his first "Proud Dad of Truman Student" t shirt.

After having the experience of moving in students across the world, I can't help but wonder, "What are they feeling? Are they nervous? Scared? Excited?" I would like to think they felt exactly as I did, moving into a foreign land brimming with people they had never seen in their life. However, how could they possibly come close to feeling what I had? I traveled for two hours; most of these students traveled for two days. What I felt during my first week on campus is certainly just a fraction of what they are experiencing now.

Even though I believe these feelings may be amplified within each new international student, I can't help but see similarities. Here are just a couple examples-

  1. "Are we supposed to wear our room key around our necks? It looks ridiculous."

  2. "Why is every girl here so obsessed with Vera Bradley?"

  3. "Wait. Why is everyone eating in the same dining hall?"

  4. "Every single person in this room is from St. Louis."

  5. "Chicken Bowl Day is a big deal."

  6. "Should I bring my backpack? I don't want to look like a newbie."

  7. "I thought Chicago was the Windy City..."

  8. "Everyone has an IPhone except me."

  9. "Does anybody look both ways before crossing the street?"

  10. "I'm pretty sure if I say I don't like the Cardinals, I'm gonna get jumped."

  11. "I didn't know cropped tops were actually a thing. I thought they were glorified sports bras."

  12. "Apparently not having Netflix is a crime against humanity."

  13. "No, I'm not Catholic."

  14. "What's the laundry code?"

  15. "I've never been to BreadCo. or Panera. Aren't they the same thing?"

Of course, I can look back and say, yes. Not having Netflix is truly a crime against humanity. However, this took me almost a year to figure out. These international students who are now slowly meandering their way across campus are almost expected to know all these things. Although they arrive a week earlier than American freshmen and returning students, we throw information at them, expecting them to remember every single detail and to know exactly where they are supposed to be every second of the day. Not to mention, they have no familial back up. Their families are in Vietnam, France, South Korea, and China. They can't just call up their parents and ask them to ship them a couple extra towels or snacks. First of all, their cell phone plans usually don't work in the States. Secondly, by the time these things arrive, they have already had to purchase them by themselves.

I would like to think that my students and I shared a similar culture shock, experiencing the magic that is Taco Bell and leggings at the same time. However, I know that my freshman experience doesn't even come close to the international experience.

Love,

Heldie


Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page