top of page
What's Happening:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Get to Know Me!
What's On TV?

Other Posts-

A Light

Recently, I happened across one of my favorite YouTubers, Olan Rogers. He hadn't posted anything for awhile and I was completely stoked he had something up. After I finished watching, I scrolled down to peruse the comments. One after another exuded happiness and sincere appreciation of his videos and how he made people laugh by telling a story or showing what was happening in his life. And it got me thinking, "How does he do it?"

Of course, I couldn't ponder the question too long because, like any twenty year old college student home for break, I had to eat and sleep my way through the day in order to stay wide awake until four in the morning. And, as the clock hands ticked closer and closer to four and the Facebook activity dwindled, the question popped up again. Finally, I gave up on trying to come up with an answer and went to turn off my bedside lamp. As I reached over to switch it off, I heard a bug in the lampshade, making that annoying buzzing sound. Aggravated, I switched the light off and proceeded to scroll through my Instagram while laying in bed. As would luck would have it, the bug flew over to my phone, bounced off the screen, and then landed on my face. Being the proper young adult I am, I freaked out and violently smacked myself while launching out of bed and simultaneously turning on the lamp.

Of course, the bug then found it fitting to return to the lampshade. However, when the buzzing struck up again, I wasn't annoyed. I was enlightened. I finally knew the answer! It only took me slapping myself in the face to figure it out, which is sad, but I had figured it out! The man is a light! Like a moth to flame, he draws you in with his charm and unique laugh. When you're at your computer and he's telling a story, it doesn't feel like he's speaking to a camera. Instead, you feel like you're there, in the moment, laughing along with him. He's the friend you've never met (at least I haven't) and yet you feel like you know everything about him. That's what it is about him. He offers this charismatic light that you can't help but look at.

Now, Rogers is just a light that shines on a bigger platform. I believe everyone has a light about them. Some just tend to shine a little brighter than others. You don't need a social media platform to reach out to someone and I think that's something that we have all forgotten about. We're so absorbed in what people are doing on Twitter that we tend to forget to actually see a person, to see their light. And, more often than not, we forget that each of us individually has a light to offer. We get so wrapped in what we do wrong that we fail to see what we're doing right.

Maybe you're funny, or good at algebra (praise you). It doesn't matter! Be who you are! Switch your light on and let it burn so bright that people from two towns over can see it. And don't just do it for yourself, but for those around you. As J.K. Rowling once wrote, "Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light." People can fall into a sea of darkness and never reach land because they fail to see the shore. Be their beacon. Be their light.

Love,

Heldie

*Check out Olan Rogers YouTube here:


Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page